Attractions

Here you breathe German history

Attractions

Here you breathe German history

Bonn is one of the oldest cities in Germany, boasting more than 2000 years of history.


Having been the country’s capital from 1949 to 1990, Bonn has many historically rich landmarks and places of interest to discover.
The Bonn Marriott World Conference Hotel is the perfect starting point for exploring these places.

History

Old Town Hall

The Old Town Hall was built in the Rococo (late Baroque) style in 1737 by the court architect Michael Leveilly. Currently the building is a protected heritage site. Aside from its central location, directly in the center of Bonn on the marketplace, the Old Town Hall is mainly known for its gilded outdoor stairway.

Modern Attractions

The 3 tallest structures in the city

Leading the list of the three tallest structures in the city is WDR’s 180m radio tower on the Venusberg. A further eye catcher is the Post Tower; with its 41 upper stories and 5 underground stories it reaches a height of 162.5m. With 114.7m the “Lange Eugen” also counts as one of the tallest structures in the city. This skyscraper was built in 1969 and has been home to the UN since 2006.

History & Culture

Museum Mile

The Museum Mile is an ensemble of five different museums. On the north end of it, on Adenauerallee, is the Forschungsmuseum König (Alexander Koenig Research Museum), a natural history museum and zoological research institute. Museum König specializes in vertebrates and arthropods and is especially popular with children.


Five hundred meters further to the south, on Willy-Brandt-Allee, you will find the House of History, with its permanent exhibition about German history from 1945 to the present. From there, the Kunstmuseum Bonn (Bonn Museum of Modern Art) is within walking distance. Located on Friedrich-Ebert-Allee, it is one of the largest museums of contemporary art in the world.
The Bundeskunsthalle (Art and Exhibition Hall of the Federal Republic of Germany) is next door to the Kunstmuseum; it presents changing exhibitions on art and cultural objects from around the world.


The Museum Mile ends with the Deutsches Museum Bonn (German Museum Bonn). There you will find experiments by famous German engineers and inventors after 1945.

Excursion

Boat trips on the Rhine - Bonner Personen Schiffahrt

Discover Bonn in a different way with a boat tour. The Bonner Personen Schiffahrt Genossenschaft has been in existence for 87 years and docks near the hotel. It operates on the Mittelrhein, Niederrhein and also the Mosel. The excursion boats can be booked at any time of year for group events, weddings, family celebrations or individual tours.

Leisure

GOP

The GOP is a vaudeville theater, which originated in Hannover. Presenting a new show every month, it entertains audiences with acrobats, magicians, ventriloquists and singers. In September 2016 the new GOP will be opening in Bonn with direct access to the Bonn Marriott World Conference Hotel. The GOP vaudeville theater is able to accommodate up to 350 guests.

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Hier atmen Sie Deutsche Geschichte

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Hier atmen Sie Deutsche Geschichte

Bonn ist mit seiner mehr als 2000-jährigen Geschichte eine der ältesten Städte Deutschlands.

Durch die Ernennung zur Bundeshauptstadt im Jahre 1949 gibt es in Bonn viele geschichtsträchtige Orte und Sehenswürdigkeiten zu entdecken. Das Bonn Marriott World Conference Hotel bietet Ihnen den perfekten Ausgangspunkt, um diese Orte zu besichtigen.

Geschichte

Altes Rathaus

Das Alte Rathaus wurde im Stil des Rokoko, eine Stilrichtung der europäischen Kunst, 1737 vom kurfürstlichen Hofbaumeister Michael Leveilly erbaut und steht unter Denkmalschutz. Neben der zentralen Lage des alten Rathauses, direkt in der Bonner Innenstadt auf dem Marktplatz, ist es vor allem durch die vergoldete Freitreppe bekannt geworden.

Moderne

Die 3 höchsten Bauwerke der Stadt

Zu den drei höchsten Bauwerken der Stadt zählt mit 180m Höhe der Funkmast des WDR auf dem Venusberg. Ein weiterer Eyecatcher der Stadt Bonn ist der Post Tower. Mit seinen 41 Ober- und 5 Untergeschossen erreicht er eine Höhe von 162,5m. Mit 114,7m gehört der „Lange Eugen“ mit zu den höchsten Bauwerken der Stadt. Das Hochhaus wurde 1969 errichtet und wird seit 2006 von den Vereinten Nationen beherbergt.

Geschichte & Kultur

Museumsmeile

Die Museumsmeile ist ein Ensemble von fünf verschiedenen Museen. Im Norden der Museumsmeile, auf der Adenauerallee, befindet sich das zoologische Forschungsmuseum König. Das Museum König ist ein auf Wirbeltiere und Gliederfüße spezialisiertes Naturkundemuseum und wird vor allem von Kindern  gerne besucht.

500 Meter weiter südlich, auf der Willy-Brandt-Allee, liegt das Haus der Geschichte, welches in einer Dauerausstellung die deutsche Zeitgeschichte von 1945 bis zur Gegenwart erzählt. Von dort aus fußläufig zu erreichen ist das Kunstmuseum Bonn. An der Friedrich-Ebert-Allee gelegen gehört es zu den größten Museen für Gegenwartskunst.

Nebenan liegt die Bundeskunsthalle, welche wechselnde Ausstellungen zu bedeutenden Kunstschätzen und Kulturgütern aus der ganzen Welt ausstellt.

Das Ende der Museumsmeile macht das Deutsche Museum Bonn. Dort zu finden sind Experimente berühmter Techniker und Erfinder aus Deutschland nach 1945.

Ausflug

Bonner Personen Schiffahrt

Entdecken Sie Bonn einmal anders und machen Sie eine Rundfahrt mit dem Schiff. Die Bonner Personen Schifffahrt Genossenschaft besteht in diesem Jahr bereits seit 87 Jahren und legt nur unweit von dem Hotel an. Das Einsatzgebiet ist der Mittel- und Niederrhein sowie die Mosel. Die Schiffe können zu jeder Jahreszeit für Gruppenevents, Hochzeiten, Familienfeiern oder Individualfahrten gebucht werden.

Freizeit

GOP

Das GOP ist ein Varieté-Theater, welches ursprünglich aus Hannover stammt. Mit monatlich wechselnden Programmen unterhalten Akrobaten, Zauberer, Bauchredner und Sänger das Publikum mit ihren Darbietungen. Im September 2016 eröffnet das neue GOP in Bonn mit direktem Zugang zum Bonn Marriott World Conference Hotel. Das GOP Varieté-Theater bietet Platz für 350 Gäste.